/ ~

Getting Started With GTK

For quite a while I’ve wanted to learn how to write a desktop application using GTK. I’ve finally stopped procrastinating and started teaching myself how to do so. The result:

Redesign (maybe) pending

Redesign (maybe) pending

Sums is a simple postfix calculator that I’ve been intermittently hacking on over the past few weeks. Although I fully intend for it to become a useful application in its own right, it’s primarily my vehicle for getting to know GTK and GUI programming in general. I also want to publish it on Flathub so I can get familiar with that process and give something small back to the free software community.

Currently, its functionality is extremely limited and it can’t deal with malformed expressions at all. It’s also, sadly, icon-less.

Sums is written in C and developed for GNOME + Linux. GTK has several bindings that let programmers write applications in “easier” languages like Python or JavaScript, but I really enjoy writing C.

You can find the source code here: it’s free software under the GPL version 3.